Go to main content

Summer Festival 1970 - The Rehearsals


Summer Festival 1970 - The Rehearsals
Released: 2021/03 by MRS
Deluxe 3CD/ book combination by Memphis Recording Service

ElvisNews review

MRS jumped on the anniversary band wagon of That’s The Way It Is and released a 3 CD set containing a part of the rehearsals.


Nothing wrong with the packaging of this set. Many great pictures, an introduction by Gordon Minto and some memorabilia. The CDs are printed with the pattern of Elvis’ shirt which hurts the eye a bit, but they are in the player or cover enveloppe most of the time.


To me it is a big why. I can understand fans skipped the expensive FTD set with all rehearsals, but it is not that this material was not available elsewhere (at least most of it). Okay, the Fort Baxters are probably hard to get, but a decade or so ago the main part of this set (the July 24, 1970 rehearsal) was re-released in super quality by Gravel Road. Anyway, that is not my problem. I guess there is still a market for it.

Unlike my wife I do like to give this stuff an occasional spin and enjoy the (childish) humour in between the craftsmanship that is showcased too. It is the way I love Elvis’ music, without drowning in orchestra or backing vocals. Exactly why I played ‘From Elvis In Nashville’ so often since its release (probably the most played Elvis release in my house already, okay, next to Sunrise, Elvis 56 and From Elvis In Memphis). To get back to this particular release: the sound is good as can be, I don’t hear any real difference with the GRM release (comparing the ‘Brightest Star’ part) or the recent FTD outing.


I had the occasional spin again for a while. Whether to buy it or not you can decide yourself if you need it. If you think the FTD was too expensive and you still want more than you have… and it’s on here? Why not? You’ll get over 230 minutes pure Elvis!



MGM Sound Stage 1, Culver City, Los Angeles, California

14 July 1970
01. Words
02. Bridge Over Troubled Water
15 July 1970 
03. Stagger Lee
04. Got My Mojo Working
05. I’ve Lost You
06. Stranger in the Crowd (Rehearsal 1) 
07. The Next Step is Love
08. You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me
09. Sweet Caroline
10. Yesterday
11. Ghost Riders in the Sky
12. Runaway
13. Peter Gunn Theme
14. One Night
15. Alla En El Rancho Grande
16. That’s All Right 03:09    Arthur Crudup
17. Twenty Days & Twenty Nights (Rehearsal 1)
18. Twenty Days & Twenty Nights (Rehearsal 2)
19. Patch It Up
20. Cotton Fields
21. Sylvia
22. Stranger in the Crowd (Rehearsal 2)


RCA Studios, Hollywood, California

24 July 1970
01. That’s All Right
02. I Got a Woman
03. The Wonder of You
04. I’ve Lost You
05. The Next Step Is Love
06. Stranger in The Crowd
07. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’ (Rehearsal 1)
08. Something
09. Don’t Cry Daddy/Don’t Cry Daddy (faster version)
10. You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me
11. Polk Salad Annie
12. Bridge Over Troubled Water
13. I Can’t Stop Loving You
14. Just Pretend
15. Sweet Caroline
16. Words
17. Suspicious Minds
Bonus Stereo Mix Tracks
18. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’ (Rehearsal 1)
19. Sweet Caroline


RCA Studios, Hollywood, CA
24 JULY 1970 (continued)

01. I Just Can’t Help Believin’ (1)
02. Tomorrow Never Comes
03. Mary in the Morning
04. Twenty Days & Twenty Nights
05. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’ (Rehearsal 2)
06. I Just Can’t Help Believin’ (2)
07. Heart of Rome
08. Memories
09. Johnny B. Goode
10. Make the World Go Away
11. Stranger in My Own Hometown
12. I Washed My Hands in Muddy Water

MGM Sound Stage 1, Culver City, CA
JULY 29, 1970

13. Elvis Talking
14. Something
15. (Now and Then There’s) A Fool Such as I
16. Froggy Went A-Courtin’
17. Such A Night
18. It’s Now or Never
19. Hava Nagila


Buy at Amazon.co.uk
GaronJesse wrote on April 10, 2021
According to MRS this release is in stereo, but the original source was done in mono. Does this mean that it's fake stereo? And is there really a difference in sound between this release and the FTD box set?
Rating: 3 / 5