Go to main content

I Got Lucky


I Got Lucky
Released: 2008/11/17 by Sony Special Products

Reissue of the 1971 Camden compilation.

ElvisNews review

Sony re-issued two more Camden volumes on their Special Budget label; “I Got Lucky” and “Elvis Sings Hits From His Movies”. Did I get lucky tracking down a copy?


The artwork is faithfully reproduced; the only thing missing on these re-issues is the original back cover artwork featuring advertisements for other Presley albums. The originals didn’t have the big FBI anti-piracy stamp either :-)



The content of these discs is kind of a mixed bag but for many fans these releases bring back memories of that magical period of discovering Elvis through these cheap releases. You can say they were crap back then and are crap now, but they served a purpose. They put the cheap re-issues we have in Europe in another perspective; what if these Camden releases had contained Elvis’ classic fifties material to discover his music?

No compilation ever should contain “Old MacDonald” but the addition of “Guitar Man”. “Big Boss Man” to the “Elvis Sings Hits From his Movies” disc was worth the handful of dollars back in those days for a lot of fans. The same goes for the coupling of the red hot chart hit single "Burning Love” with “Guadalhara” and “I Love Only One Girl”. I always had a soft spot for "Confidence" as it was part of the first Elvis tape I got and don't we all - well at least the men - like "Long Legged Girls "(With Short Dresses On)?

These two aren’t the best Camden titles; but for the real collector it contains two little collectables according to postings on the FECC forum. “I Got Lucky” contains the original edits of the title track while “Home Is Where The Heart Is” is released in stereo for the first time on CD.


The Camden LPs are what they are - take them or leave them; in their day they served a purpose. Many fans still have a soft spot for these albums and they are part of the original catalogue, released during Elvis’ life-time. Collecting those I call myself "lucky" I got them :-)


Original tracklisting "I Got Lucky":

  1. I Got Lucky
  2. What A Wonderful Life
  3. I Need Somebody To Lean On
  4. Yoga As Yoga Does
  5. Riding The Rainbow
  6. Fools Fall In Love
  7. The Love Machine
  8. Home Is Where The Heart Is
  9. You Gotta Stop
  10. If You Think I Don't Need You

Original tracklisting "Elvis Sings Hits From His Movies":

  1. Down By The Riverside And When The Saints Go Marching In
  2. They Remind Me Too Much Of You
  3. Confidence
  4. Frankie And Johnny
  5. Guitar Man
  6. Long Legged Girl (With The Short Dress On)
  7. You Don't Know Me
  8. How Would You Like To Be
  9. Big Boss Man
  10. Old MacDonald

Crawfish wrote on November 15, 2008
Oh my god. One of the first albums I bought ....... with my own money! And when I saw that suit in Memphis ........ well, you know! Great memories, great voice, great sentiment ........and I could just go on. I love this album. Don't forget - when I bought this, I wasnt looking for tip top quality etc. etc. etc. Elvis was still ALIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XXXXXXX
Rating: 4 / 5
JerryNodak wrote on November 27, 2008
Looking forward to finally having this release on CD. Expect it will spend a lot of time in my player. Great cover!
Greg Nolan wrote on December 23, 2008
The hobby is about nothing if not nostalgia - and that is the fuel that will get me to shell out for this attractive budget title! Lots of memories...not the great tracklist..but as with the rest of the Camden reissue series (all albums released in Elvis' lifetime), a sure-bet for long-time fans.
Greg Nolan wrote on December 23, 2008
I meant to say that it *doesn't* have the greatest tracklisting! That aside (!)I'm a happy sucker who will be getting it!