More Details July FTD Releases?

The latest edition of "The Man and His Music" magazine mentions a few details on the upcoming Follow That Dream releases. The "America" soundboard should contain a recording from April 22, 1976 with the bonus songs "Burning Love" and "My Way" as recorded on April 27, 1976 at the Coliseum, Spokane, Washington.
Tracklisting America:

2001 Theme See See Rider I Got A Woman - Amen Love Me If You Love Me (Let Me Know) You Gave Me A Mountain Trying to get to You All Shook Up Teddy Bear - Dont Be Cruel Heartbreak Hotel America The Beautiful Polk Salad Annie Introductions What I'd Say (featuring James Burton) Ronnie Tutt drums solo Jerry Scheff bass solo Tony Brown piano solo David Briggs electric piano solo Love Letters Marty Harrell orchestra Hail! Hail! Rock N Roll Hurt Hound Dog Help Me How Great Thou Art Little Darlin' Its Now Or Never Funny How Time Slips Away Can't Help Falling In Love Closing Vamp. Tracklisting Love Letters from Elvis - Original LP

1. Love Letters
2. When I'm Over You
3. If I Were You
4. Got My Mojo Working
5. Heart Of Rome
6. Only Believe
7. This Is Our Dance
8. Cindy, Cindy
9. I'll Never Know
10. It Ain't No Big Thing (But It's Growing)
11. Life

Plus Bonus songs - The Sound of your Cry / Sylvia / Where Did They Go Lord / Rags to Riches plus outtakes.

Tracklisting Memphis Tennessee:

Original LP plus outtakes

1. Long Lonely Highway
2. Western Union
3. Witchcraft
4. Love Me Tonight
5. What Now? What Next? Where to?
6. Please Don't Drag That String Around
7. Blue River
8. Never Ending
9. Devil In Disguise
10. Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers
11. Echoes Of Love
12. Slowly But Surely
13. It Hurts Me
14. Memphis, Tennessee
15. Ask Me

You can already pre-order these releases from ElvisMatters. The first 100 reservations for the complete bundle will receive a free collectors CD 'One Night with Elvis', not available in any shop.
Source: Magazines: The Man And His Music / Updated: Jun 1, 2008 

Related Links

Elvis Presley on: eBay, Amazon


burninglove92 (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 25, 2008report abuse
really looking forward to them especially the 76 concert however i would prefer some 1971 or 73 concerts we dont seem to have much of this and there are a few decent bootlegs of 71, i think ftd should release a complete concert all ready available as bootleg and show us how much they can improve the quality and the artwork
RonBaker (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 24, 2008report abuse
Any news on this cd? It's almost July now!!!
Mofoca22 (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 4, 2008report abuse
i look forward to love letters and the lost album- i will always call it that because thats how i bought it in the 90's as a cassete. i dont want another 1976 concert they are too close together meaning tuscon 76 and and this one. i want some 1971 concerts
circleG (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 3, 2008report abuse
does anyone know the date of that live 'something' track? its not dated in the TTWII booklet ( sorry if i'm going off topic)
ThomasM (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 3, 2008report abuse
I agree with Marten, I think it would be great to have Elvis Country both in its original form and then also without "I Was Born About Ten Thousand Years Ago" linking all the songs together. I also think, like Marten, that one could argue that "Where Did They Go, Lord" and "Rags To Riches" would've suited the FTD Country album better, especially in a chronological sense, since they were recorded in september 1970, together with "Snowbird" and "Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On'" (by the way not exactly a country song either, eh?). On the other hand I find it strange that "Something" was included on the FTD TTWII when Jorgensen himself states in his book A Life In Music that the song was considered for the Love Letters album. And as a final note: I think it's sad that you can't express your opinion on this page without running the risk of getting a nasty comment in return. Just my humble opinion, of course.
Marten (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 3, 2008report abuse
Jerry, didn't I write "the original album + all songs without "10 000 Years Ago" in between"? You may correct me (again) if Im wrong. I think this + (oh, theres that little sign again) alternate takes would fit into two CDs, but I havent sat with my stopwatch to prove this. Maybe you have.
The Memphis Flash (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 3, 2008report abuse
In answer to what Palle wrote, in the UK during the 60's all the LP's and EP's had white borders, it was only towards the end of the 60's that they ended that. I am looking forward to these releases, I really like what FTD provide and welcome any new release. I have just purchased the new TTWIS set and our boy's voice sounds wonderful on it. Great work guys.
JerryNodak (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 2, 2008report abuse
Marten: Have you been paying attention? Any FTD "classic" album always begins with the ORIGINAL album. For "Elvis Country" that means the first 12 tracks (the original album) will have the music snippet between the tracks. BTW: A case can be made for "Where Did They Go Lord" as a country song, but NOT "Rags To Riches". That song originates from Tony Bennett. Overwrought, big-voiced Elvis ballad, but not country in the least.
JerryNodak (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 2, 2008report abuse
First: We don't know for certain that the bonus songs listed for "Love Letters" is correct. Second: The inclusion of "Sylvia", if correct, doesn't necessarily preclude a release on FTD of "Elvis-Now." After all "Crying In The Chapel" was included on "His Hand In Mine" And I can assure you it will be included on the FTD version of HGTA.
Marten (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 2, 2008report abuse
I'm so glad Sylvia (and Sound of Your Cry) seems to be included, which hopefully means there will be no ftd classic album version of Elvis Now! Instead, I hope Ernst and Roger are considering a 1971 "lost" pop album as a 2 CD special instead. Sort of an "Lost Album" volume 2. Or maybe 3, counting an 1966-1968 Nashville Album ... Also, Rags to Riches and Where Did They Go Lord (which would have suited an Elvis Country ftd better) can mean that there will be a 2 CD Elvis Country ftd, with the original album + all songs without "10 000 Years Ago" in between. With the often few alternate takes of the Country songs, I think this will fit into a 2 CD package. Keep 'em coming!
JerryNodak (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 2, 2008report abuse
I'll reserve judgement on these releases until after FTD releases the official tracklist.
Palle (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 2, 2008report abuse
Great .... a new title on an old album! Kinda like the white borders on the classic albums, where there were no white borders on them during Elvis' lifetime
Chop983 (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 2, 2008report abuse
It's 90's title was "For The Asking (The Lost Album)" and I would have stuck with that. The first part at least. as it's in keeping with those 60's Nashville albums
circleG (profilecontact) wrote on Jun 1, 2008report abuse
memphis tennessee? wasn't it called the 'lost' album when released in the 90's? what was wrong with that title? i hope the FTD release has kept the original 'lost album' cover and comes in the 6" version otherwise I will be disappointed...

Recently Added Shop Items