You Know It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country, 2

Gravel Road Music will release the long awaited follow up to You Know It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country.Volume 2 will contain songs recorded during the sessions of June 7-8 and September 22, 1970. This is what GRM says about it:

All acetate recordings are collected from private collections of which many for the first time in this shape on CD. These are the acetates that Elvis took home to playback and agreed to be released! All tracks have been digitally restored and re-mastered.
These acetates often sound better & different than what we know and made it to a LP or nowadays on CD. Together with Volume 1, it is the complete acetate collection of the famous Nashville sessions of 1970. When you love the vinyl sound, this is the closest you ever get to Elvis’ original sound of that recording moment! 

This is the perfect addition to the FTD releases of “Elvis Country, Love letters from Elvis & Elvis, That’s the way it is” All tracks are digitally restored and improved BUT absolute priority has been given to the historical content, this to maintain the true sound of the recording. It comes with a 16 pages booklet with in-depth liner notes (part 2) and more info about the acetates and some unusual photos of Elvis.

01. When I’m Over You (Take 1 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
02. I Really Don’t Want To Know (Take 4 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
03. Faded Love (Take 1 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
04. Tomorrow Never Comes (Take 13 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
05. The Next Step Is Love (Take 11 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
06. Make The World Go Away (Take 3 – Spliced Undubbed Master) Acetate
07. Funny How Times Slips Away (Take 1 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate
(Previously Unreleased)
08. I Washed My Hands in Muddy Water (Take 1 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate
09. Love Letters (Take 5 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate

10. There Goes My Everything (Take 1) Originally released on ‘Great Country Songs’
11. If I Were You (Take 9 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
12. Only Believe (Take 4 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate (Previous Unreleased with Count-In)
13. Sylvia (Take 8 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate (Previous Unreleased with Count-In)
14. Patch It Up (Take 8 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate (Previous Unreleased with Count-In)

15. Snowbird (Take 6 – Undubbed Master) Acetate (Previous Unreleased)
16. Where Did They Go Lord? (Take 6 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
17. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On (Take 2 – Unedited Undubbed Master)
18. Rags to Riches (Take 4 – Unrepaired Undubbed Master) Acetate


19. I’ve Lost You (Take 7 – With June 22 Backup Vocal Overdubs) (Previous Unreleased)
20. Bridge over troubled water (Take 8 – With July 18 Brass & String Overdub) (Previous Unreleased)
21. The Next Step Is Love (Take 11 – With July 18 Brass & String Overdub) (Previously Unreleased)
22. I’ll Never Know (Take 7 – With July 18 Brass & Strings Overdub - no Backing Vocals) (Previously Unreleased)

Source: Email / Updated: Mar 8, 2013 
Elvis Presley on: eBay, Amazon


Lefty (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 12, 2013report abuse
As far as Elvis goes, there really is nothing new under the sun. Yet, we keep spending our money for the latest tweak or the flashiest packaging. To each his own, so I am not faulting anyone that wants this release, but I do wonder how long this will go on. As for me, I pass up way more releases than I buy nowadays, and that trend will continue into the foreseeable future. Oldscudder, I'll keep an eye out for your new label. That just cracked me up!
woody1 (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 11, 2013report abuse
Darn it, I wish I had waited till after these last few posting had been posted before I placed my order, never mind it may be a good compilation anyway, and I'm with Natha it sure is hard knowing what's what these days.
theoldscudder (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 11, 2013report abuse
I am seriously thinking of starting my own label. Look for it soon! The name will be" For Suckers Only".
japio (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 10, 2013report abuse
To me it's a fifty-fifty release. for the younger fans who missed the original a must. Different mixes, better sound then the original lp/cd's. For fans who's have the originals can skip this one. if we go back to the originals. Most of the versions are fake. It was mostly taken from a badly damaged quad vinyl. Used one or two channels. You can clearly hear instruments or female backing vocal bleeding in the background The same was done on the bilo cd yesterday/today and the other side of memphis. Ofcourse there was some real acetates. I was not satisfied about the first volume. They tried to clean up a bit. With headphones on you'll hear the bad compression. And ofcourse they used the original releases. But the software improves also. So maybe they do a better job then on the volume one.
Steve V (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 10, 2013report abuse
How many times? The song titles never change. They cant, there are no more new songs. Its a con (Brass & string overdub? Really people?) Why keep buying this stuff? For packaging? Insanity. Donate to a charity instead of making these bootleggers rich.
Natha (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 9, 2013report abuse
Is there anything new on this one? I lost track by now. getting old, I guess.
tcbboy (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 9, 2013report abuse
I loved the first title and have been waiting for this one for ages. Front cover looks excellent and I bet the complete package will be worth every penny, a great overall looking title...........bring it on!!!!!!!!!!!!.
al shookup (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 9, 2013report abuse
Love the artwork, Elvis at his fittest and looking good.
Ciscoking (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 9, 2013report abuse
In any case it is a good source for getting nowadays rare shows decent upgrade.
Matthias Kuenzer (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 9, 2013report abuse
Gravel Road is known to reprocess old bootleg CD tracks to produce "new" ones. You have been told.
AmyD (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 8, 2013report abuse
Volume 1 offered nice packaging but very little else. And this looks no different. It appeared most were 'reworkings' of tracks from old bootlegs such as the acetates from the old Pure Diamonds series - not a different or better source, just manipulated, indeed, some sounded like they were actually taken from Pure Diamonds with compression added. The best package of out-takes and alternates from this session remains the brilliant Circle G "There's A Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On".
Ciscoking (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 8, 2013report abuse
I have Vol. 1 and I will have Vol.2, too..;-)..good stuff..
Ronaldv (profilecontact) wrote on Mar 8, 2013report abuse
This is a winner, without a doubt! I have volume 1 too, a highly recommendable and rare cd. Keep them coming guys!

CD / Vinyl: 10 most recent news items


Recently Added Shop Items