Go to main content

Red-Hot In Richmond


Red-Hot In Richmond
Show date:
Richmond, Virginia


01. Introduction: Also Sprach Zarathustra 1:17
02. C.C. Rider 2:59
03. Proud Mary 2:43
04. Never Been To Spain 3:36
05. You Gave Me A Mountain 3:13
06. Until It's Time For You To Go 2:31
07. Polk Salad Annie 3:14
08. Love Me 1:37
09. All Shook Up 0:58
10. Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel 1:49
11. Heartbreak Hotel 2:04
12. Hound Dog 1:21
13. Bridge Over Troubled Water 4:11
14. Love Me Tender 1:43
15. It's Over 2:15
16. Suspicious Minds 4:52
17. Introduction of Vocalists, Musicians, Orchestra 1:50
18. For The Good Times 3:07
19. I Can't Stop Loving You 2:21
20. An American Trilogy 4:15
21. Lawdy Miss Clawdy (incomplete, the kick-off is missing)* 2:40
22. Funny How Time Slips Away 2:49
23. Can't Help Falling In Love / Closing Vamp 2:02


By ElvisNews.com/ Lex, Sep 25, 2008
Another volume in the Standing Room Only Tapes on the Madison label just fell in my mailbox. This time it’s a re-release of the poorest of the old Vicky outings, Carry Me Back To Old Virginia. Madison gave it the title Red-Hot In Richmond, is it Red-Hot?

It gets boring, but once again Madison delivered a top notch product. The booklet carries only pictures of the actual show, okay, next to one of the Richmond Coliseum. The liner notes are a perfect review by themselves. It is hard not just to copy them.

You can’t even compare it to the Vicky release of the show. It is way better in sound quality and far more complete. Compared to the recent A Greensboro Revolution I can’t be that positive. Don’t get me wrong, it is still a damn fine recording, but the balance is just less than on volume 1 in this series. Elvis is a bit too upfront to me. Well, the fact that I am playing it for the third time in a row now may underline that I am supposedly exaggerating a bit.

Looking at the set list there are not too many surprises in this show. There are some marvelous versions of Proud Mary, Polk Salad, Suspicious Minds (great horn in the first part!) and It’s Over, the known throwaway versions of the oldies (although Heartbreak Hotel is above par, and Hound Dog gets the bluesy treatment).
I found out that the wrestling with his necklace is more fun on screen than on CD (Until It’s Time) and unfortunately he is fooling around a bit in the beginning of Bridge, but he makes up for that more than enough later in the song. I Can Stop Loving You is very strong, Trilogy get one of the better treatments and Lawdy Miss Clawdy gets not the treatment the other oldies get. It is a great relaxed version which carried me away (but not over that big scary water). Unfortunately we miss a few bars of it. The country tunes For The Good Times and Funny How Time Slips Away belong to the top segment of the show.
Especially the booklet is Red-Hot both thanks to the designer and the jumpsuit, and the show... well, actually it is pretty Red-Hot too. I expect Madison to release all shows of this tour in this quality, bring them on!

7 / 10