You’ll Never Walk Alone

By KeesFeb 13, 2008
You’ll Never Walk Alone

Between all the crap releases from questionable import labels this release from the new ReelTrax label was a pleasant surprise.


This CD comes with a modern looking design based on the design of the German single release of “We Call On Him” backed with “You’ll Never Walk Alone”. The liner notes place Elvis’ gospel recordings in the proper context. You can also see the designers paid attention to the #1 label in design, the Madison label.


All studio tracks on this compilation were recorded in 1966 and 1967; Elvis’ career was in the middle of a nose-dive, but his voice was in top shape. Fortunately for us he recorded the music he loved next to the mostly mediocre movie soundtracks.

Like with the American Way series from the Southern Comfort label you can sit in on these sessions for the songs and enjoy the fly on the wall perspective. On this compilation you get eleven “sessions” for eleven songs.

The sound on this session CD is great, Elvis seams to be standing next to you in church; it sounds wide and open. From the “How Great Thou Art” session we get "You'll Never Walk Alone" and "We Call On Him" in stereo, the remaining tracks are still in mono. But more important, this release contains new outtakes of "We Call On Him" (take 1) and "You'll Never Walk Alone" (the first takes) which – besides the great audio quality – make it worth tracking down a copy.

The one problem I have with Elvis’ gospel music is that many compilations contain too many of the slower and sacred sounding performances. This compilation contains the upbeat black sounding tracks too. That's what I call celebrating The Lord.

The quotes from Ray Walker and Joe Moscheo are nice bonussus with the live version of the title track with just Elvis and the piano from July 19, 1975" as the cherry on top.


Like most of you I’m waiting for Follow That Dream Classic Album re-issue of "How Great Thou Art" (hopefully in perfect stereo), but until then this gem will find its way to my CD player many times.

Looking forward to the next release from this label.


  1. You’ll Never Walk Alone [Takes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6] – 12:32
  2. We Call On Him [Takes 1, 2, 3] – 05:47
  3. Run On [Takes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6] – 10:08
  4. Stand By Me [Takes 8, 9, 10] – 05:39
  5. Where No one Stands Alone [Takes 1, 2] – 05:53
  6. Where No One Stands Alone – workpart [Takes 1, 2, 3] – 03:42
  7. So High [Takes 2, 3] – 02:21
  8. Farther Along ]Takes 1, 2] – 04:05
  9. By And By [Takes 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9] – 10:30
  10. Somebody Bigger Than You And I [Takes 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10] – 07:51
  11. If The Lord Wasn’t Walking By My Side [Takes 3, 4, 5] – 04:04
  12. Statement Ray Walker – 01:05
  13. Statement Joe Moscheo – 01:08
  14. You’ll Never Walk Alone (live July 19, 1975) – 02:21
Elvis Presley on: eBay, Amazon


Greg Nolan (profilecontact) wrote on Feb 25, 2008report abuse
It sounds like a real peach of a release that I hope to track down myself. Following up on "I Saw the Light's" demerits: I associate the title "You'll Never Walk Alone" with the more famous Camden gospel release of the same name, which Sony/BMG re-issued in the last year. That title can be found in many retail outlets to this day. "Alone With the Lord," anyone ?
I Saw the Light (profilecontact) wrote on Feb 21, 2008report abuse
Great cd. That means: a) content is interesting with some new outtakes; b) sound is brilliant, it's crystal clear, with rich bass tones and it can be compared with official releases; c) 16 page booklet is stylish and quite informative. I don't like few things, though: a) Elvis looks like a puppet with that funny haircut on the front cover; b) there is no complete take of 'Where No One Stand Alone', c) on 'By and By' we can hear the first complete take after 4 minutes of false starts, and on 'Somebody Bigger Then You And I' of 8 outtakes there is not one complete take. It's annoying and for completists only-not really for listening on regular basis. PS- 'You'll Never Walk Alone' is beautiful and in stereo too.
Ronaldv (profilecontact) wrote on Feb 20, 2008report abuse
received my copy today. absolutely stunning sound quality and a very interesting booklet included
I hope reeltrax is going to release a lot more elvis imports in the near future!
Ciscoking (profilecontact) wrote on Feb 14, 2008report abuse
Yes,.a breeze of fresh air in the somewhat boring import market regarding studio discs..Hey Tiger 10.. ...ALP 13...take a lesson.. I bet we find the unreleased takes on one of the future volumes there..
You Dont Know Me (profilecontact) wrote on Feb 14, 2008report abuse
I just keep on listening to this Superb CD and find it 'truly' inspirational! Of cource if such a quality package had come out on FTD i would have bought it immediately, but failing that i consider this one of the best sounding Gospel CD's i have EVER bought with Elvis singing in my life! THE inspiration here is magnificent! and the 2 talking bits only add to the whole pleasurable CD-how can i rate this CD any less than 10/10! Best Ever 'Gospel CD i bought -77 minutes long featuring an 'inspired Elvis'. Interestingly too clearly for many tracks Elvis liked to sing in the dark in the studio and this becomes obvious as well when listening to the marvelous outakes. To the German guy who did the Sound all i say is a 10/10 Job and please do more 'Reeltrax!'.

CD review: 10 most recent articles


Recently Added Shop Items