Go to main content

Tampa Wave

December 31, 2022 | Music

Just before Christmas (thank you, Santa) MBM released Tampa Wave, a CD/ DVD combination containing an audience recording of the April 26, 1975 evening show and footage of other concerts from the spring/summer of 1975.


The 3-panel package has a neat design. The contrast between text and background is good (in contrast to previous outings by MBM). The pictures are nicely credited as being of the afternoon show of April 26.


It has been quite a while since I sat out an audience recording. With this one it wasn’t really hard work, the sound is pretty good for an audience, there are many worse sounding, but few better sounding audience recordings. The liner notes by the one who recorded the show give an extra dimension. The show itself is pretty standard for a 1975 show, my personal favourites are My Boy (just because it is not worn out completely), T-R-O-U-B-L-E (disregarding the 2000 words and little slip, he really went for it) and the showstopper An American Trilogy. All together the man gave a pretty uplifting show and it is presented in decent sound quality.

The DVD is a different story. Although nicely produced, with newspaper clippings and album covers of the time, it did not give much viewing pleasure. There are pretty good pieces of footage, but overall they are just that: pieces, way too short to enjoy. Unfortunately with nearly each show the same: I Got A Woman and Burning Love. Maybe it is just the time that makes me think this way, since in the late 80s, early 90s of the past century I would have committed a murder for new footage… most often in a 7th generation (if not later) copy.

I only wish Elvis had continued to wear those 2 piece costumes, they look so much better than the silly jumpsuits he went back to during the summer.


Another nice package with a good show and a nicely produced DVD by MBM, obviously a dedicated label.

Tracklist CD

01 -  Also Sprach Zarathustra 
02 -  See See Rider
03 -  I Got A Woman / Amen
04 -  Dialogue
05 -  Love Me 
06 -  If You Love Me (Let Me Know)
07 -  Love Me Tender
08 -  Teddy Bear / Don’t Be Cruel
09 -  Help Me
10 -  Burning Love
11 -  Group Introductions
12 -  What‘d I Say 
13 -  Drum Solo
14 -  Bass Solo
15 -  Piano Solo
16 -  School Days
17 -  My Boy
18 -  T.R.O.U.B.L.E
19 -  Hawaiian Wedding Song
20 -  Let Me Be There
21 -  An American Trilogy
22 -  Can’t Help Falling In Love
23 -  Closing Vamp

Gladyslove wrote on December 31, 2022
I am happy with their last 3 releases. Afaik there is more in the can to come for us.
Yoshi wrote on January 06, 2023
Am I wrong or is the footage already released on Sold Out?