Go to main content

Smooth Chicago Nights

September 17, 2020 | Music

The MxF label will release Smooth Chicago Nights, a 2LP/CD set with both of the shows of Chicago 14th & 15th of October 1976 and the ambiance recording of the complete second Chicago show included as a bonus. The set will be out late September.

The selling talk:

After shedding some extra weight the man as suggested by the title presents himself in the best way possible considering the past year.. surprising even the journalist to be able to fit again in his 1975 jumpsuit. The Chicago nights are the first stop of the October tour and for the first time in the year, Elvis presents himself at the top of the game. He delivered two solid shows working hard on the stage that he threw up for exhaustion after it.

At the same time, we are glad to include as a bonus CD an unreleased Ambiance Recording of the complete concert of the second day in Chicago. The sound is decent: if you want to live the atmosphere of an Elvis concert in 2020 this is the right tape. We can guarantee that Elvis was greeted with incredible enthusiasm; the popularity in the live scene at the end of 1976 is still at its maximum level.

For The first show Elvis wearing the Inca Gold Leaf suit looking a lot slimmer. He gave a strong concert but problems with the sound in the stadium was a big let down and Elvis could hardly hear anything during the first half of the show. The second show of the tour was in the same stadium and was strong as the day before from Elvis with some variation in the songs list.

The shows are very enjoyable with Elvis's performance very easily delivering soft and sensitive ballad like “And I love You So” and You Gave Me A Mountain or great rock blues songs like “Steamrollers Blues” and Polk Salad Annie at the end of the second show also a real surprise with the attempt to the classic Blue Christmas.

About The Bonus cd, the sound is good for an ambient recording, a dynamic tape with a good definition of the background music and for sure you can live the atmosphere of an Elvis concert in the seventies. We hope you can enjoy the final result.

Set info: 

2 X Vinyl LP  housed in a deluxe 300 grams gatefold sleeve that includes together the double vinyl set a Bonus cd and incredible large art card 30x30 cm. Black Vinyl 200 copies.

2 × Vinyl LP, Album, Gatefold cover ,Limited Edition, White 100 copies  

2 × Vinyl LP, Album, Gatefold cover ,Limited Edition, Blue 100 copies  

All the three versions will include together with the bonus CD and an exclusive art card lp sized 300 gram glossy paper with three variations!

LP 1 Soundboard Recording 
October 14th, 1976  8.30 PM

SIDE A 27.00 min.
01. See See Rider
02. I Got A Woman /Amen
03. Love Me
04. If You Love Me
05. You Gave Me A Mountain
06. Jailhouse Rock
07. All Shook Up
08. Teddy Bear/Don’t Be Cruel
09. And I Love You So

SIDE B  27.00 min.

10. Fever
11. Polk Salad Annie
12. What’d I Say /
Johnny B. Good
13. Love Letters
14. School Day
15. Hurt
14. Love Me Tender
15. Hound Dog
16. Funny How Time Slips Away
17. Mystery Rain /Tiger Man
18. Can’t Help Falling in Love

APPROX RUNNING TIME 54.00 min                                                   

LP 2 Soundboard Recording
June 15th, 1976 8.30  PM

SIDE C  26.00 min.
01. Amen / I Got A Woman
02. Love Me
03. If You Love Me
04. You Gave Me a Mountain
05. Help Me
06. Jailhouse Rock
07. All Shook Up
08. Teddy Bear / Don’t Be Cruel
09. And I Love You So

SIDE D  27.00 min.

10. Steamroller Blues
11. Intros / Early Morning Rain
12. What’d I Say / Johnny  B. Good
13. Drums Solo 14. Bass Solo
15. Piano Solo
16. Electric Piano Solo
17. Love Letters
18. Intros / School Day
19. Hurt
20. It’s Now Or Never
21. Blue Christmas
22. Can’t Help Falling In Love

APPROX RUNNING TIME 53.00 min                                                   

Special Bonus CD

Complete Unreleased Ambience  Recording October 15th, 1976 8.30  PM

01. Opening & See See Rider
02. I Got A Woman - Amen
03.     Love Me
04. If You Love Me
05. You Gave Me A Mountain
06. Help Me
07. Jailhouse Rock
08. All Shook Up
09. Teddy Bear / Don’t Be Cruel
10. And I Love You So
11. Steamroller Blues
12. Intros & Early Morning Rain
13. Johnny B. Goode &What’d I say
14. Drum Solo
15.Bass Solo
16. Piano Solo
17. Electric Piano
18. Love Letters
19. School Day
20. Hurt (part)
21. Hound Dog
22. It’s Now Or Never
23. Blue Christmas
24.Can't Help Falling In Love
25. Closing Vamp

Approx Running Time  60.00 min

Source:For CD Collectors Only