Go to main content

Houston, I’m Back Again

May 08, 2020 | Music

To be released soon (Middle of May) from the "VV" label for the first time in vinyl, with both of the shows of Houston 04th & 05th of June 1975 and the ambiance recording of the complete second Houston show included as a bonus. This special product will be the follow up of the previous successful  See You Huntsville published by VV on October 2019.

From the press release:

As always the VV attitude is to present Elvis at the peak of his possibility and without a doubt, this double set presents Elvis still at his best. After shedding some extra weight the man is ready to face his second tour of 1975. The June 1975 tour  due to the RCA idea to record a live album gives us some incredible soundboard tapes, unfortunately, all more or less incomplete. But at the same time, it has given us the possibilities after a light editing and a remastering process to use a single vinyl for each Houston concert.

At the same time we are glad to include as bonus CD an unreleased Ambiance Recording of the complete concert of the second day in Houston. The sound is decent: if you want to live the atmosphere of an Elvis concert in 2020 this is the right tape. We can guarantee that Elvis was greeted with incredible enthusiasm; the popularity in the live scene in the middle of 1975 is at its maximum level.

The tour presents Elvis still at the top of his rocker possibility, in spite of his weight. He looks great in his impressive new jumpsuits and he delivers great shows with a great version of the up-tempo rockers Burning Love and his last single T.R.O.U.B.L.E. The enthusiasm is so great sometimes on the ambiance tape the screaming is louder than the music and in one occasion he accepts even a song request like “Trying To Get To you”, a rarity for the tour. The sound is good for an ambient recording, a dynamic tape with a great definition of the background music and for sure you can live the atmosphere of an Elvis concert in the seventies. We hope you can enjoy the final result.

Double vinyl 180 grams, including two incredible Houston shows with the best audio possible! Two Soundboard recording from the improved sound for the first time in a double high valued collector vinyl set, 33 rpm speed.   

Special limited set info:  

2 X Vinyl LP  housed in a deluxe 300 grams gatefold sleeve that includes  
together the double vinyl set a Bonus cd and incredible large art card 30x30 cm. Black Vinyl 120 copies.

2 × Vinyl LP, Album, Gatefold cover ,Limited Edition, White 100 copies  

2 × Vinyl LP, Album, Gatefold cover ,Limited Edition, Blue 100 copies  

Both the colored version will include together with the bonus CD and an exclusive double set of art card lp sized 300 gram glossy paper.

LP 1 Soundboard Recording 
June 04, 1975  8.00 PM

SIDE A 25.00 min.

01.Amen/ I Got A Woman
02. Love Me
03. If You Love Me
04. Love Me Tender
05. All Shook Up
06. Teddy Bear/Don’t Be Cruel
07. Hound Dog
08. The Wonder Of  You
09. Burning in Love
10. Band Introduction
11. Johnny B. Good
12. School Day

SIDE B  26.43 min.

13. T.R.O.U.B.L.E.
14. Why Me Lord?
15. How Great Thou Art
16. Let Me There
17. An American Trilogy
18. Funny How Time Slips Away
19. Little Darling
20. Mystery Rain/Tiger Man
21. Can’t Help Falling in Love

APPROX RUNNING TIME 53.00 min                                                   

LP 2 Soundboard Recording
June 05, 1975 8.00  PM

SIDE C  26.15 min.

01.Amen/ I Got A Woman
02. Love Me
03. If You Love Me
04. Love Me Tender
05. All Shook Up
06. Teddy Bear/Don’t Be Cruel
07. Hound Dog
08. The Wonder Of  You
09. Burning in Love
11. Band Introduction
10. T.R.O.U.B.L.E.

SIDE D  26.18 min.

12. Trying To Get To You
13. How Great Thou Art
14. Let Me Be There
15. You Gave Me  A  Mountain
16. An American Trilogy
17. Little Darling
18. Mystery Train / Tiger Man
19. Funny How Time Slips Away
20.  Can’t Help Falling In Love

APPROX RUNNING TIME 52.00 min                                                    

Special Bonus CD

Complete Unreleased Ambience  Recording June 05 1975 8.00  PM

01. See See Rider
02. I Got A Woman - Amen
03. Dialogue
04. Love Me
05. If You Love Me
06. Love Me Tender
07. All Shook Up
08. Teddy Bear - Don't Be Cruel
09. Hound Dog
10. The Wonder Of You
11. Burning Love
12. Band Introductions
13. Johnny B. Goode (by James Burton)
14. Drum Solo/Bass Solo/Piano Solo*
15. School Day*
16. T.R.O.U.B.L.E*
17. Trying To Get To You*
18. How Great Thou Art (+ reprise)
19. Let Me Be There
20. You Gave Me  A Mountain
21. An American Trilogy
22. Little Darlin'
23. Mystery Train/Tiger Man
24. Funny How Time Slips Away (+ reprise)         
25.     Can't Help Falling In Love

Approx Running Time  70.00 min

* Denote inferior audio quality due at technical problems during the recording

Source:For CD Collectors Only
Bob Finkel wrote on May 10, 2020
No need for this in my opinion. Nothing new on it. The Bonus CD audience recording is available as a soundboard recording on many CDs. The whole thing in white, blue, black vinyl and as a deluxe edition? But that's just my opinion.
Ciscoking wrote on May 20, 2020
For gimmick fans only.