Go to main content

Vegas Variety 10

March 27, 2013 | Music

Rainbow Records will release the 10th (and final) volume in their Vegas Variety series next month. This is what they have to say about it:

To be released April 4, 2013: Rainbow Records proudly presents the final release in their series “Vegas Variety”. It will be presented in real good sound for an audience recording.
When Rainbow Records released their first volume in the „Vegas Variety“ series in 2007, they had the dream about presenting at least one Vegas-Show from each year. The goal was to not only share great music and concerts but they soon learned that each show has at least one special highlight that deserves to be heard by fans worldwide. Although the package of a vinyl album is more impressive and collectable they tried their best in presenting the fans a booklet with show reviews, newspaper articles, ticket stubs (yes, even Vegas had ticket sales for Elvis shows, see „Vegas Variety Vol.2“) etc.
During the research they found rare and never before seen photos of Elvis in Vegas and also had the chance to track down some nice memorabilia and unreleased shots of the International / Hilton Hotel.
During the production of Vol. 5 luck was definitely on their side when they were able to get the hands on a taped show that no-one had ever known to exist. Being fans and collectors themselves, their priority was always to give the fans something „nice & new“.
With this 10th release in the „Vegas Variety“ Rainbow Records presents an unreleased recording of the September 5, 1971 Dinner Show performance. “It‘s Impossible“, „Lawdy Miss Clawdy“, „Sweet Caroline“ - it‘s your choice which song you call your personal highlight this time. With the release of a show from 1971 Rainbow Records has accomplished their goal to cover each year from the Vegas Years 1969-1976.
So today, more than 5 years later after the initial release it‘s time to look back: 10 Volumes of „Vegas Variety“ means also a total of 10 unique shows on 12 silver factory pressed CDs. Both shows featured on Volume 1 + 2 had a running time that exceeded the capacity of a single disc, so these releases had to become a 2 disc-set. With the releases Rainbow Records was able to present you ultra rare versions of songs like „Until Then“, „You Better Run“, „Rock My Soul“, „Aubrey“, „Cryin‘ Time“ and „Just Pretend“.
Each release featured an extensive booklet of 16-20 pages with background information and great photos of our man in action. With a total of nearly 200 pages these ten booklets are all combined no longer a booklet, but can be called a book!
Rainbow Records likes to thank you for your loyalty and the support through the years.

01. Also Sprach Zarathustra
02. That's All Right, Mama
03. I Got A Woman / Amen
04. Proud Mary
05. Sweet Caroline
06. Polk Salad Annie
07. Johnny B. Goode
08. It's Impossible
09. Love Me
10. Blue Suede Shoes / Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On
11. Heartbreak Hotel
12. Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel
13. Hound Dog
14. Love Me Tender
15. Suspicious Minds
16. Band Introductions
17. I'm Leavin'
18. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
19. Can't Help Falling In Love

In-A-Flash wrote on March 27, 2013
Good tracks indeed and concerts from the early 70s are always welcome. Does anyone know about sound quality of this concert?
Ciscoking wrote on March 27, 2013
Sound is okay..not top notch ..there are better but there are a lot worse, too..it is okay. The show is also decent..offers nothing new..but Elvis is committed and the fans had a happy hour.
In-A-Flash wrote on March 28, 2013
Thanks for the information Ciscoking!
Ciscoking wrote on March 28, 2013
I was asked where I knew from how the sound was.....I know the source..
GEORGE (GK) wrote on March 28, 2013
I like the album cover. I wish RCA would find more photos of Elvis in this suit, and feature it in album pics. I like the song line up of this show.
Natha wrote on March 29, 2013
CiscoKing, thanks for your information. As usual highly appreciated!
blackdiamond wrote on April 21, 2013
The sound on this release is good/fair for an audience recording. I think there's too much hiss noticable. But it is still better than the average audience show.