Go to main content

Details Showroom Internationale 1971

August 10, 2009 | Music

The upcoming box set release from the ‘International’ label entitled ‘Showroom Internationale 1971’ will be released 24th August 2009. The CD is out, the first review can be found on the For Elvis CD Collectors Forum.

From the pressrelease:

In conjunction with ‘DAE’ this release will feature a brand new unreleased soundboard performance from the closing night Jan/Feb 1971 Las Vegas engagement, the February 23rd 8pm show.

The 2CD/Book set will also feature the January 28th Midnight show (previously released on the Fort Baxter label as ‘Lean Mean and Kicking Butt’) but this time, unlike before, is directly mastered from the original reel tapes thus clearly showing vast noticeable sound improvements to its original release.

All the audio restoration and remastering are by DAE.

This package also has an accompanying 100 page glossy hardback book featuring great unreleased photographs from the time, as well as a detailed essay encapsulating the actual engagement in January / February and helps put this time frame into some historical perspective by looking at what went before and afterwards.

This will be the last major release from the International label and the fabulous box set release has only a limited edition run of 999 copies.

Preview tracks can be heard on Elvis–express radio this Friday and next.


Disc One: January 28, 1971 Midnight show

1. 2001 Theme
2. That’s All Right
3. I Got A Woman
4. Love Me Tender
5. You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me
6. Sweet Caroline
7. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling
8. Polk Salad Annie
9. Introductions (Part 1)
10. Johnny B. Goode
11. Introductions (Part 2)
12. Something
13. Introductions (Part 3)
14. The Wonder Of You
15. Heartbreak Hotel
16. Blue Suede Shoes
17. Hound Dog
18. One Night
19. Teddy Bear
20. Suspicious Minds
21. Instrumental
22. The Impossible Dream

Bonus tracks

23. There Goes My Everything (Jan 27 MS)
24. Make The World Go Away (Jan 27 MS)
25. Only Believe (Jan 27 MS)
26. It’s Now Or Never (Jan 28 DS)
27. Snowbird (Jan 29 DS)

Disc 2: February 23, 1971 Dinner Show

1. 2001 Theme
2. That’s All Right
3. I Got A Woman/By The Time I Get To Phoenix
4. Love Me Tender (Intro Only)/ Love Me
5. Mystery Train/Tiger Man
6. Sweet Caroline
7. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling
8. Polk Salad Annie
9. Something
10. Johnny B. Goode
11. How Great Thou Art
12. Don’t Be Cruel
13. Heartbreak Hotel
14. Blue Suede Shoes
15. Bride Over Troubled Water
16. Little Sister/Get Back
17. Hound Dog
18. Suspicious Minds (Spliced with Jan 28 DS)
19. The Impossible Dream (Jan 28 DS)


Related links

Lex wrote on August 10, 2009
Prepare for a lot of reverb! :-)
JimmyCool wrote on August 10, 2009
A little bit of reverb is welcomed! Dry soundboards sound so sterile and lifeless. We'll have to wait for this release before saying anything... but I'm sure it's gonna be a good one.
benny scott wrote on August 10, 2009
Lex, what makes you think there'll be "a lot " of reverb ? Pls explain ? Always El.
sitdown68 wrote on August 10, 2009
is this the Vegas show that featured How Great Thou Art?
Lex wrote on August 10, 2009
The DAE releases suffered from way too much reverb in my opinion.
Greg Nolan wrote on August 11, 2009
I have to look into this reverb debate, but Lex, if you're right, why all the praise for the DAE titles all the time? I seem to recall an anti-reverb argument that it is a "fake" affect that interferes with the true sound captured. Anyone else want to enlighten us on this?
benny scott wrote on August 11, 2009
Greg, that's the way I think too . Just like RCA did with the original SUN-recordings : adding ( unnessecary) reverb, and thus ruining the original SUN-sound ! Always El.
Jerome-the-third wrote on August 11, 2009
Looks nice, looks expensive..
Raymond wrote on August 11, 2009
Looks fine to me. I have pre-ordered it from my supplier. It is not that expansive (for me). It costs me 50 euro. I am really looking forward to it. Also to your review!
lray wrote on August 11, 2009
Much of this is covered on FTD's The Impossible Dream out in 2004!!!
Harvey Alexander wrote on August 11, 2009
Re the show that first came out as 'Lean, Mean And Kicking Butt'. There never was a reel to reel tape of this show. It was recorded from the soundboard on a cassette. So once again the people behind this release are bending the truth. Just like they did over the TTWII box they did in mono when they had the stereo tapes all the time. Are you suprised they are now doing it again in stereo? I'm not. Parasites.
Master Fatman wrote on August 11, 2009
Reverb? What...what.... w h a t .... ?! ;-]
sitdown68 wrote on August 12, 2009
well, this reminds one of Forrest Gumps' worldview: "Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get."
kingofthejungle wrote on August 12, 2009
Harvey Alexander, I don't know where you got your information about the 'Lean, Mean, and Kickin' Butt' show coming from a cassette, but it is in error. In fact, I just got a preview copy of this release, and there is a photograph of the original reel-to-reel tape and tape box for this show in the booklet!
Harvey Alexander wrote on August 12, 2009
My info came from the producers of the 'Lean Mean' CD. It's very easy to mock-up a photo of a tape box / reel. Just like it's easy to release stuff in mono and then release it again a few months later in stereo. The term "from an improved source" is always going to hook those who want to be hooked.
Mofoca22 wrote on August 12, 2009
ahhh why complain if its mono or stereo we are lucky that we have anything of elvis on stage in 1971.
burton wrote on August 13, 2009
AGAIN! where can we buy these releases.