Go to main content

Elvis - Hollywood - Volume 1

June 20, 2009 | Video

The first “real” Star dvd will be out very soon, after the tremendous success of the Star dvd series, the producers take the “final” step, and will produce a factory pressed import DVD.

Elvis- Hollywood , Volume One will kick off with the first 4 movies, and has 17 (!!) new clips, (compared to Hollywood Elvis volume one) all clips for Jailhouse Rock have been re-done,since better footage became available.

Highlights are Loving You (record version) Tell Me Why (Elvis second screentest), First In Line (ode to Judy Tyler), My Wish Came True (Elvis “dream” of becoming an actor),  Young and Beautiful (new edit, 3 performances make the record version, and 2 extra versions are included)

All previous and new Star DVDs will be re-released this way, and all will have lots of extras, are improved where possible, include new artwork and double layer discs! All discs come with fully animated menus, with sound. All movies are divided into separate tracks in the menu, so if you just wanna play the Jailhouse Rock songs.. the choice is yours. And last but not least, there is a bonus feature segment, including extra songs, outtakes and rare movies.

After this release the series will continue in “chronical” order, volume two will have: GI Blues, Flaming Star, Wild In The Country, Blue Hawaii And Follow That Dream.

Complete Tracklisting

  • Blue Suede Shoes
  • We’re Gonna Move
  • Let Me
  • Poor Boy
  • Love Me Tender
  • Love Me Tender End Title
  • Anyway You Want Me
  • Loving You (Record Version)
  • Got A Lot O’ Livin’ To Do
  • Party
  • Lonesome Cowboy
  • Teddy Bear
  • Hot Dog
  • Mean Woman Blues (Record Version)
  • True Love
  • Loving You (Take 5)
  • Tell Me Why
  • Jailhouse Rock (Record Version)
  • Treat Me Nice (Record Version)
  • Don’t Leave Me Now
  • I Want To Be Free (Record Version)
  • Baby, I Don’t Care
  • Young And Beautiful (Record Version)
  • Treat Me Nice (Movie Version)
  • First In Line
  • Jailhouse Rock (Take 5)
  • Crawfish
  • King Creole
  • Danny
  • Dixieland Rock
  • Lover Doll
  • Hard Headed Woman
  • New Orleans
  • Young Dreams
  • Steadfast, Loyal And True
  • Trouble
  • Don’t Ask Me Why
  • As Long As I Have You
  • King Creole (Take 3)
  • My Wish Came True

Bonus Features:

  • Opening Medley Full Screen
  • We’re Gonna Move (Take 4)
  • 1957 Road Medley
  • Loving You (Farm Version)
  • Mean Woman Blues (Movie Version)
  • Got A Lot O’ Livin’ To Do (Movie Version)
  • Jailhouse Rock (Movie Version)
  • Treat Me Nice (Take 19)
  • Young And Beautiful (Take 3)
  • I Want To Be Free (Prison Version)
  • Young And Beautiful (Take 7)
  • As Long As I Have You (Take 4)


andrew1 wrote on June 20, 2009
Now this is a release to get excited about!
JimmyCool wrote on June 21, 2009
I think the STAR releases are overrated... anyone can do those clips on their PC computers... I know I can.
Ciscoking wrote on June 21, 2009
STAR stands for top notch quality and pro work....hence no computer fakes..the track listing looks like the best music Elvis did ..and so will be the clips...a visual must have...
lray wrote on June 21, 2009
JimmyCool can do this on his own, but I can't!!! If I knew where to find Star on the web, I would. But right now I don't know where they are. This would be a good DVD to start with.
TBG wrote on June 22, 2009
There's no reason to get exited over this release. They don't have filmed alternate versions of any songs. The filmed versions on the Jailhouse Rock movie is the only stuff available. They don't have alternate filmed versions of Treat Me Nice, Mean Woman Blues, True Love etc. This is probably just a dvd where they include all Elvis' performances from the films, and added alternate versions but just the audio. Anyone can make stuff like this..
japio wrote on June 22, 2009
I can understand why some liked it. But its all C.R.A.P .it's bring nothing new.And they first brings ripp offs with dvd-r's and they had money enough to ripp us again.In Nero Vision you can make this easily when you're taking the time.ok it's your money.But this has to stop'.
Jerome-the-third wrote on June 23, 2009
well, there's nothing wrong I guess with people trying to make a buck..
lray wrote on June 23, 2009
HiHeel I don't see anything unreleased here. We have these Jailhouse tracks spread around on different CD's. As far as King Creole, the outtakes that we have is what they have. The rest were destroyed or recorded over decades ago. Sorry, but reality is painful sometimes. But I still would like to get this DVD if I knew were to find it.
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on June 23, 2009
Hiheel,they cant release everything at once,i dont see anything special about this release,and as mentioned some outtakes were destroyed or recorded over,everything will be ok!
Harvey Alexander wrote on June 24, 2009
Seems that anyone can do whatever they want these days. Copyright? What's that?! I think it's time I marketed the b&w 'In Concert' outtakes I have; stuff that was recorded backstage showing Elvis arriving at three different venues and trying to learn the words to 'My Way'. I bought this off an ex-CBS employee in 1984. Perhaps Star would like to put it out?
japio wrote on June 24, 2009
Harvey. i think they can't used it .they have no time . They have to work on other volumes to ripp us off
Greg Nolan wrote on June 26, 2009
Well, it is a bootleg. As the owner of nearly all the previous "Star" releases (all unfortunately DVD-R until now), I can tell you that most of you would find these highly-inventive, fresh and entertaining...even if you don't normally think well of a lot of his movie work. The "Star" staff has done some neat things with existing footage for songs we sometimes think we'd never see "videos" of. "Star" has a terrific reputation and I can recommend their "new" videos anytime. I have the prior ones and will have to think about upgrading to this package.We should be thankful that the import market is full of what amounts to labors of love by fans. We do see "C-R-A-P" released sometimes but this is *NOT* that.