Go to main content

You Know It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country Released

August 05, 2008 | Music
Volume 1 of the Gravel Road Music import label release "You Know It Don't Have To Be Strictly Country" has been released. This CD contains 22 tracks collected from private collections and many are released on CD for the first time according to the press-release, "These are the acetates which Elvis took home to play-back and agreed to be released!".

01. Twenty days and twenty nights (Take 9 – Master , undubbed –unedited) Acetate
02. I've lost you (Take 7 – Master , undubbed –unedited) Acetate
03. I was born about 10.000 years ago (Take 1 – Master , undubbed –unedited)
04. The sound of your cry (Take 11 – Master , undubbed –unedited) Acetate
05. The fool (Take 1 – try out)
06. Little cabin on the hill (Take 2) – Master, undubbed
07. Cindy ,Cindy (take 1) unedited
08. Bridge over troubled water (Take 8 – Master , undubbed - unedited, unrepaired)
09. Got my mojo working /Keep your hands off it (Take 1 – Master , dubbed brass & horns –unedited)
10. How the web was woven (take 3 – Master, back-up vocals, no additional overdubbing ) (previous unreleased)
11. It's your baby, you rock it (Take 5 – Master , undubbed –unedited) Acetate
12. Stranger in the crowd (take 9 - Master, Guide strings & backing vocals ) (previously unreleased)
13. I'll never know (Take 7 – Master, undubbed –unedited) Acetate
14. Mary in the morning (Take 5 – Master, undubbed, unedited) Acetate
15. Ain't no big thing (Take 9) (dubbed strings) (previously unreleased)
16. You don't have to say you love me (take 3– Alternate Master, dubbed strings – no backing vocals) (previously unreleased)
17. Just pretend (Take 3 – Master , undubbed –unedited) Acetate
18. This is our dance (Take 11 – Master , undubbed –unedited) Acetate
19. Life (Take 20 – Master , undubbed –unedited) Acetate
20. Heart of Rome (Take 3 – Used for composite Master , undubbed –unedited) Stereo (previously unreleased)
21. Bridge over troubled water - V.O July 2 3 (Acetate) stereo (previously unreleased)
22. There goes my everything (Take 3 – Master , undubbed –unedited) Acetate
Ronaldv wrote on August 05, 2008
That's really great news!! We had to wait very long for this cd, at the end of 2007 it was announced already, but better late than never! Bring it on! Volume 2 next month??
elvistruth wrote on August 05, 2008
Well. At last a good new make reality. Many millions better that a money-maker xmas duets release.
Jerome returns wrote on August 05, 2008
Eventually I'll have every song with or without dubbing, editing, in master, with or without strings, with or without backing vocals, with guide strings, with or without additional overdubbing and repaired or unrepaired, yeah, that's my goal in life!..
elvistruth wrote on August 06, 2008
The best album (cd) in 30 years!!!