Go to main content

Cover Art Raised On Vegas

July 17, 2008 | Music
This is the cover art of the upcoming Czech Memory Record release "Raised On Vegas" featuring Elvis' performance from August 6, 1973 as recorded from the audience in Las Vegas. This show was previously released as "Fire In Vegas" on the Peaf label in 1993. This re-issue should be from a first generation copy which should mean better sound.
Press-release: Recorded live in Las Vegas, Hilton Hotel, August 08, 1973, Opening night. The forthcoming "Memory Records" label CD release is entitled "RAISED ON VEGAS". Between July 21-24, 1973 Elvis recorded 10 tracks at the legendary Stax Studios in Memphis, Tennessee - but only one of these made it into his live act: "Raised On Rock". Just a few weeks after these sessions, on August 6th, Elvis opened another "Las Vegas Summer Festival" with the rather unique concert presented on this CD. During this unusual show, Elvis performed "Trouble" from "King Creole" (1958) and segued straight into the recent "Raised On Rock". This is the only known live performance of the latter song. Later in the show Elvis surprised his audience with another live rarity: "Memphis Tennessee". Elvis also introduced a contemporary favorite of his, "My Boy", a rather hesitantly performed version that predates his studio-version by four months. 1973 was a very busy year for Elvis. The triumph of the "Aloha" show was followed by two Las Vegas seasons, two long tours, July, September and December recording sessions, hospitalization for detoxification as well as the October divorce. Elvis was truly caught in a trap, both professionally and personally. By now, he was just as fed up with the glitter and artificiality of Vegas as he’d been of the “Travelogue” movies just a few years earlier. Nevertheless, his opening and closing concerts in Vegas were always special events and this one is no exception! This recording was taken from an early generation copy of the original master tape as recorded by a member of the audience. The tape source is independent and of much better quality, than the first 1st release of this show ("FIRE IN VEGAS" - 1993). All tracks were digitally restored for your best possible listening pleasure, and the speed was corrected. All accompanying photographs were taken between April and August 1973. Tracklisting:

01. Also Sprach Zarathustra
02. C. C. Rider
03. Trouble (1st live version)
04. Raised On Rock (only live version)
05. Love Me
06. Steamroller Blues
07. What Now My Love
08. Blue Suede Shoes
09. Memphis Tennessee
10. Long Tall Sally/Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On/Mama Can't Dance/Flip, Flop And
Fly/Jailhouse Rock/Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On (medley)
11. Love Me Tender
12. Hound Dog
13. Fever
14. My Boy (1st live version)
15. Suspicious Minds
16. Band Introductions
17. Celebrity Introductions (Petula Clark, Guy March, Phillis McGuire, Liza Minelli)
18. I Can't Stop Loving You
19. An American Trilogy
20. Bridge Over Troubled Water
21. How Great Thou Art
22. A Big Hunk O' Love
23. Help Me Make It Through The Night
24. Can't Help Falling In Love
25. Closing Vamp
Source:For Elvis CD Collectors Forum
Johandelclef wrote on July 17, 2008
Cool picture...poor design. Photoshoppy cover. Memory records' covers are all very cheap looking lately. The content could be good tough.
Mofoca22 wrote on July 18, 2008
that ooks like a good concert with raise don rock in there. does anyone have audio on this and how its sound?
Ciscoking wrote on July 18, 2008
I have posted cover, track listing and a sound sample on FECC forum. The show is very interesting with a good choice of song. The sound is o.k.for an AR but there are of course better sounding. These Vegas shows couldn`t of course match the power and dynamics of the previous tours,.. Elvis fell in his Vegas bordom. This opening show is one of the better although he sounds a bit nervous.