Go to main content

Where No One Stands Alone

By ElvisNews.com/ Kees, June 13, 2008 | Music

The second release from the ReelTracks import label is out; did they continue the great start they had with “You’ll Never Walk Alone”?


It is clearly visible that the designer of this package found inspiration in the Madison label releases; just look at the use of the logo. The liner notes carefully describe the recording sessions behind the songs featured on this compilation. Added is the history of the “How Great Thou Art” classic.

The booklet is nicely designed – although a bit dark sometimes due to the use of black as one of the two main colours - with lots of memorabilia and original reviews. By now Elvis’ love for gospel music is well known, but an original English review of the "How Great thou Art" album clearly shows that the reviewer needed time to see Elvis as a gospel singer in stead of a rock and roll artist. But once he does he clearly compliments Elvis on the album.


This compilation continues where the previous ReelTracks escape left off, gospel recordings in great audio-quality. I gave this disc several spins and enjoyed it very much. The upbeat “revival-style” songs like “So High” and big songs like “How Great Thou Art” that build to a powerful climax are my favorites. Listening to songs like “Somebody Bigger than You And I” doesn’t give me same joy or excitement the before-mentioned songs do. That said, the latter song is performed very well and shows the craftsmanship of our man in the studio. Contrary to the “American Way” releases with recording sessions from the famous American Studio’s I don’t get the “fly-on-the-wall” feeling, but that is perhaps due to the content of the CD; we don’t get all takes available and there isn’t too much experimenting going on, Elvis clearly knows what he wants. On the “American Way” series we got an artist and band experimenting a bit more with pace, rhythm and tempo.
Unfortunately no unreleased material this time. The audio-quality of this CD is very good, it is almost like Elvis and his vocalists stand in my living room. The mix is done very well with the vocalists up-front and the musicians really accompanying them through the songs.

As a bonus we get a great live version of “How Great Thou Art”. But with a release like this, especially the good audio-quality, the “cut-off” of this live version is a real bad edit. Why no fade-out?

The live version of the title track shows us a strong Elvis on piano with leading his vocalists through this song. Listening to his “On stage” version I wonder how the well known midnight sessions after the concerts sounded.

The CD ends with a short statement by Felton Jarvis, recorded shortly before his death, on his career and work for Elvis (and others).


Some of te reactions from fans when news of this release came out was that they would wait until the Follow That Dream label would release this material. They are probably right that the FTD release will be the definitive release of this material, but until then this release is the perfect soundtrack for the "waitingroom". 
The new label delivered another winner, hope they can continue this line with future releases.


01 - Where No One Stands Alone (Take 3, 4)?
02 - So High (Take 1)?
03 - Somebody Bigger Than You And I (Take 1+2)?
04 - We Call On Him (Take 4, 5, 8)?
05 - How Great Thou Art (Take 1, 2, 3 + Count-in Take 4)
06 - Somebody Bigger Than You And I (Take 11, 12, 13, 14, 15,16)?
07 - If The Lord Wasn't Walking By My Side (Takes 1, 2 + count-in Take 3)?
08 - Somebody Bigger Than You And I - workpart (Take 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6)?
09 - Without Him (Take 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14)?
10 - Where Could I Go But To The Lord (Take 1 + count-in Take 2)?
11 - In The Garden (Take 1)?
12 - Stand By Me (Take 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)?
13 - Oh How I Love Jesus (private recording)?
14 - How Great Thou Art incl. reprise - live June 10, 1975?
15 - Where No One Stands Alone - live February 16, 1977?
16 - Statement by Elvis' producer Felton Jarvis - December 16, 1980

Related links

Ciscoking wrote on June 13, 2008
The admin wrote: "The new label delivered another winner, hope they can continue this line with future releases." Nothing more to add.
SnOwMan wrote on June 13, 2008
Great CD,but there's nothing new here. How about unreleased soundboards or rare audience recordings? FTD will cover this session in better sound quality so... A nice CD,anyway.
Jesse Garon Presley wrote on June 14, 2008
here i agree with both u guys..well said!! : ) sure it's a nice cd..can drop onto my floor any minute now ; )
emjel wrote on June 14, 2008
The cover says STEREO. Can anyone confirm this as previous stuff's all been in mono. Yes we know that FTD will eventually get this out, but, and this is my one gripe with the FTD releases, the outakes on FTD tend to be complete versions of songs with little studio chat. The bootleggers give us that bit more - chat, false starts etc. So I'm more than happy to have both.
benny scott wrote on June 14, 2008
Interesting question indeed from emjel ! Can somebody explain this "stereo"-statement on the cover ? Would be glad to know . Thanks in advance for the info ! Always El.
asd123 wrote on June 14, 2008
A great release indeed, and the live version of the title song sounds better than ever (due to the use of reverb, though it's not too much. Guess they even used a much better source than FTD records 15 months ago).
emjel wrote on June 14, 2008
KingofSpades -as you have obviously listened to this CD ie your comments regarding HGTA, can you let us know about the STEREO issue.
asd123 wrote on June 15, 2008
Track 2 and 4 is without a doubt in stereo, but I'm absolutely not sure about the rest of the tracks. Could be elecetronical stereo as well. The live recordings are in mono of coursed.
Jesse Garon Presley wrote on June 16, 2008
there are more tracks in stereo then only 2 and 4..but it doesn't matter. the sound quality is more then awesome. also there's no electronic stereo on this cd for sure. listening to this cd is like Elvis standing in my room singin, one of my favorite "import cd's" from now on. great release
Raybaby wrote on June 18, 2008
Tracks 2, 3, 4, 6, 7 & 12 are in STEREO, the 2 live tracks sound great, especially Where No One Stands Alone, odd thing about this live track is in the intro just before Elvis sings the song there is an unusual applause sound from the audience (as this is not on any other release of this track has this been removed in the past & make it first appearance in full here ?...I don't know). Anyway great cd overall.
Jesse Garon Presley wrote on June 18, 2008
Raybaby i totally agree with u!! great reaction : )
You Dont Know Me wrote on July 01, 2008
This is a 'good cd' but Elvis in Norway has the DEFINATIVE review of it. Its not as brilliant as the first Reeltrax CD release simply because nothing here is 'brand new' The sound throughout is pretty good as is the booklet. Only worth getting if your a serious collector as theirs nothing 'brand new' on it.