Go to main content

The American Way, Volume 5

September 17, 2007 | Music
After 4 fantastic volumes, number 5 of "The American Way", subtitled "Goin' Home To Memphis" will be released in a couple of weeks. This volume will be a mix of the (same) American Sound Studio sessions, some live tracks and many takes of "Goin' Home" (1968). The cover will be the "1968 version", but for those that liked the "1970 version" better: that one will be on the back, so you can turn the booklet and make your favourite the front. This is what Southern Comfort has to say about its next release:

"There was a time, not too long ago, when an import cd accompanied with a nice bonus photo booklet meant value for money. "Remastered from best possible tape source", was not just a bag of hot air... Nowdays, just about every import label burries you, the potential buyer, under an endless and often meaningless list of 'PR' rap. Southern Comfort doesn't need cheap promises to sell their product. We're the best. And we have 4 volumes to prove it. Volume 5 is on its way. We hope you will enjoy the results of our labour. The expected release date is early October."



01. Without Love - takes 1, 2, 3 (complete take + 2 x false start)
02. Without Love - take 4 (complete take)
03. Without Love - take 5 (complete master take)

All tracks mono.


04. Gentle On My Mind (vocal overdub, master take - number unknown)
05. Just A Little Bit Of Green (undubbed master take 3)
06. Wearin' That Loved On Look (partially overdubbed master take 15)
07. Suspicious Minds (vocal overdub, master take 8)
08. I'll Be There - takes 5, 6 (false start + complete take with vocal echo)
09. Hey Jude (longer running undubbed master)
10. You'll Think Of Me (vocal overdub, master take 23)
11. Inherit The Wind (partially overdubbed master take 4)
12. This Is The Story - takes 1, 2 (false start + complete master take vocal overdub)

All tracks mono.

"LAS VEGAS 26.01.1970 OPENING SHOW"***:

13. Sammy Shore's end of sketch / Opening Riff
14. All Shook Up
15. Don't Cry Daddy
16. Walk A Mile In My Shoes / In The Ghetto (medley)
17. True Love Travels On A Gravel Road (with false start, the only known live version)

All tracks mono.


18. Goin' Home - takes 3, 4 (studio chat + 2 x false start)
19. Goin' Home - take 5 (complete take)
20. Goin' Home - exact take numbers unknown (3 x false start)
21. Goin' Home - takes 12, 13, 14 (2 x false start + long false start + take 15 announcement only)

All tracks mono.


22. Goin' Home - takes 16, 17, 18 (long false start + 5 x false start)
23. Goin' Home - takes 19, 20, 22 (long false start + 2 x false start)
24. Goin' Home - takes 23, 24 (complete take with cut + "I Got A Woman" excerpt + false start including "Heartbreak Hotel" excerpt)
25. Goin' Home - takes 25, 26, 27, 28 (false start + complete take with cut + 2 x false start)

All tracks stereo.

*** new sources
JK wrote on September 17, 2007
Yippykaye, Great release. Can't wait to get it. Not sure what to think of the live tracks on this one.... But never mind, I think it will be a great album to listen over and over again.
Ciscoking wrote on September 17, 2007
No matter what, this series is the winner of the decade. An essential must have..highly recommendable for any collections. What more can I say..??...lol..
Greg Nolan wrote on September 18, 2007
"Run, Don't Walk" !.... Jerry Nodak and MatureElvisfan, this means you, too !
Scott Walker wrote on September 18, 2007
Another must-have CD from Southern Comfort! All releases in the American Way series have feautered top-notch sound quality, brilliant artwork, PLENTY of nice photos from 1968 / 1969, and of course some of the best music Elvis recorded.
Elvisnites wrote on September 18, 2007
Thanks everybody, from those of us who can't get it. Yes, I've tried everywhere...Sam Goody has a lot of import albums, but not these. Hey Amazon-take a hint...
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on September 18, 2007
To Elvis nites,your not going to find these type of cd's at any store here in the usa,they are not official releases,to greg,everyone does not have to like the same thing,i dont feel the need for these cd's.i enjoy the 70 sessions alot more,when ftd(who every tells me i should support)releases these sessions on there classic series or what have you, that will be enought for me,that wont stop others from buying these,also everyone doesnt have a import dealer,as you can see from all the crys for help pn how to get thse cd's.i think people either assume that or dont care, as long as they have theres,and thats nothing personal greg,just a overall observation!
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on September 18, 2007
By the way why not have ftd release the complete sessions and let the buyers know it contains such language,that way for the folks who would like a offical release of the sessions could have that option,ftd need to broden its projects,well in my oppion they do!
ElvisFab wrote on September 19, 2007
I can never have enough Elvis. I'm waiting for number 6 already.
Elvisnites wrote on September 19, 2007
Your right Mature_Elvis, I'm not going to find them in the US, however, I disagree with your remark on people don't care. I've had several e-mails offering to help me get the cds. I know we don't always agree on everything, which is good. Since we're all individuals with our own opinion and likes and dislikes, it makes it interesting to see someone else's opinion. But it's nice to know when you need help, there are people on this site willing to help you. Thank you to one and all.
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on September 19, 2007
Ok thats great,glad to hear it,and yes oppions are great,there ever greater when there given in a respectful way,maybe i have run into the few who dont care! have fun all!
the colonel wrote on September 19, 2007
the label has bin around for years and have just about givin us everything from these historic sessions , and i'm sure this will be a great release as well , can't wait for my copy.
Greg Nolan wrote on September 24, 2007
Mature, did anyone ever tell you that you are a professional compla..I mean, contrarian? :)If RCA or an importer ever finds the outtakes of "Hound Dog," we know you'll be sitting on the sidelines, as these equally classic sets for some reason don't register with you. Your loss, I say, but to each his own.
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on September 25, 2007
Its simple, everyone doesnt like the same thing,what you regard as classics or must have purchases to me might be the complete opposite,no im not complaining,there is a difference in not likeing something and complaining,for some reason people get those 2 things confused,ive already prasied the importers for this release due to there effort and great artwork,and also said that ftd need to take a lesson from these kind of releases, if nothing else for the great artwork and effort in general,no wait ftd is perfect ,opps i forgot! You will never see make nasty comments about ftd ernst etc,no i just my oppion,if you dont agree then cool!