Go to main content

More Roots Of Elvis

March 27, 2007 | Music
Due for release on the Cherry Red label on April 27, 2007, is the various artists compilation "The Roots Of Elvis Volume 2".

Synopsis from the Cherry Red website:

Always cause for speculation and sometimes unfounded rumour, Elvis Presley's early months with Sun Records and the brief, hazy period he spent performing on radio shows in Mississippi, Tennessee and Texas, have generated a substantial list of songs that he either never recorded commercially or have since been lost.

In order to give the Elvis fan an idea of these mythical songs, this compilation endevours to collate the original versions of these songs which inspired Elvis to try them out for Sam Phillips or to perform them for a radio or live audience in those long-lost days of the mid 1950s.

Featuring Elvis' favourite Country artists from mighty Hank Snow and Eddy Arnold to lowly Fairley Holden and Billy Hughes along with a smattering of jump and R&B tracks, this compilation is as entertaining as it is thought-provoking; file it alongside Rev-Ola (CRREV99) for the whole picture on the formation of the world's brightest star.

Track listing:

The Delmore Brothers ‘Blues Stay Away From Me’ / Billy Hughes & His Buckaroos ‘Take Your Hands Off Of It’ / Fairley Holden & His Six Ice Cold Papas ‘Keep Them Cold Icy Fingers Off Of Me’ / Lefty Frizzell ‘Always Late (With Your Kisses)’ / Lefty Frizzell ‘Give Me More, More, More (Of Your Kisses)’ / Johnnie Lee Wills & His Boys ‘Rag Mop’ / Ivory Joe Hunter ‘I Almost Lost My Mind’ / Johnny & Jack ‘Crying Heart Blues’ / The Delmore Brothers ‘Midnite Special’ / Red Foley ‘Tennessee Saturday Night’ / Bob Wills & His Texas Playboys ‘Sittin' On Top Of The World’ / Arthur "Big Boy" Crudup ‘Hey Mama, Everything's Alright’ / Red Foley & Roberta Lee ‘Night Train To Memphis’ / Sheb Wooley ‘Blue Guitar’ / Johnny Tyler ‘Okie Boogie’ / Hank Snow & His Rainbow Ranch Boys ‘It Don't Hurt Anymore’ / Eddy Arnold ‘I Really Don't Want To Know’ / Red Foley, Ernest Tubb & Minnie Pearl ‘Love Bug Itch’ / Terry Preston (Ferlin Husky) ‘Gone’ / Bill Monroe & His Blue Grass Boys ‘Uncle Pen’ / Bob Wills & His Texas Playboys ‘Milk Cow Blues’ / The Lone Star Cowboys ‘Just Because’ / Arthur "Big Boy" Crudup ‘Hand Me Down My Walkin' Cane’ / Buddy & Bob ‘Down The Line’ / Sonny Fisher & His Rockin' Boys ‘Rockin' Daddy’ / Charlie Feathers ‘We're Gettin' Closer To Being Apart’ / Pee Wee King & His Golden West Cowboys ‘Tennessee Dancin' Doll’ / Chuck Miller ‘Lookout Mountain’ / Eddie Riff ‘Ain't That Lovin' You, Baby’
JimmyCool wrote on March 28, 2007
Very interesting indeed :P
byebye wrote on March 28, 2007
You know, this is so far fetched and absurd, that it´s a kind of funny release. Vol 2 might be "Songs Elvis dreamed about, but forgot when he woke up".
JerryNodak wrote on March 28, 2007
Roots Of Elvis or not, it's a helluva good tracklist.