Go to main content

Details The American Way 3

March 19, 2007 | Music
Here is the cover of the third volume in "The American Way" series featuring Elvis' legendary sessions from January - February 1969 at the American Sound studio in Memphis. The subtitle of this volume, due for release April 2007, is "Movin’ And Groovin’".

Track listing:

01 If I'm A Fool - takes 1, 2 (rehearsal + false start + "Am I That Easy To Forget" one line + long false start)
02 If I'm A Fool - take 3 (complete take)
03 If I'm A Fool - takes 4, 5, 6 (long false start + false start + long false start)
04 If I'm A Fool - takes 7, 8 (2x false start)
05 Long Black Limousine - takes 1, 2 (rehearsal + false start + long false start)
06 Long Black Limousine - takes 3-5 (3x false start)
07 Long Black Limousine - takes 6-8 (complete take + 2x false start)
08 It Keeps Right On A-Hurtin' - take 1 (long false start with edited intro + "Only The Lonely" one line)
09 It Keeps Right On A-Hurtin' - take 2 (complete take + false start)
10 It Keeps Right On A-Hurtin' - take 3 (complete master take)
11 Any Day Now - take 1 (false start + long false start + rehearsal)
12 Any Day Now - take 2 (complete take + rehearsal)
13 Any Day Now - take 3 (6x false start + long false start)
14 Any Day Now - take 4 (7x false start + long false start + workpart)
15 Any Day Now - take 5 (2x false start + long false start)
16 Any Day Now - take 6 (unrepaired master take with edited intro)
17 And The Grass Won't Pay No Mind - takes 1, 2 (rehearsal + false start + long false start)
18 And The Grass Won't Pay No Mind - takes 3, 4 (2x long false start)
19 And The Grass Won't Pay No Mind - take 5 (false start + long false start)
20 And The Grass Won't Pay No Mind - take 6 (false start + complete master take)

tracks 01-07 mono, tracks 08-20 stereo.
JK wrote on March 19, 2007
Only one word.... WOW!
Shakingruud wrote on March 19, 2007
FANTASTIC cover! Very impressive tracklist! WOW!
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on March 19, 2007
Wow a release that comes with a booklet,and a cool title,another missed chance by ftd!
Rob V wrote on March 19, 2007
Bring it on!!!
Ronaldv wrote on March 19, 2007
Fantastic (!) release, good songs and a wonderful cover. What else does an elvis fan wants?
Steve V wrote on March 19, 2007
Put it all in a FTD boxset and end this bootleg madness. I'm running out of $$!
Lex wrote on March 19, 2007
Steve... just be careful picking them out :-). This is a must have, forget the cheap releases with bad live shows and/or the re-re-re-releases.
Ciscoking wrote on March 19, 2007
A must have in great sound...this time with a l l takes... At least it looks like..
MR61 wrote on March 19, 2007
This is a fantastic series of cds why didnt the people at ftd do this they could have done a box set release why leave it up to bootleggers in fact a lot of Elvis,s sessions should be released this way the complete session they would be fantastic imagine the stax session the 76 sessions the 75 sessions and not forgetting the marathon 71 session just think what great box sets these would make they could even due the films GI Blues, Blue Hawaii to name a few leave this new fad about the ftd books for now release this stuff before i die.
Jerome wrote on March 19, 2007
That's the way it should be done, seems a great release!
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on March 20, 2007
MR61 im with you,id love complete sessions from the ones you mentioned,ive mentioned this before, has ernst been asked about releasing these complete sessions from 69 or any other sessions,i prefer them over the 50's sessions that are coming out now!
JonKanon wrote on March 20, 2007
A cool title? Well, yes in deed! But isn't it a bit misguiding? Seems to me these particular tracks are most of the low pace tracks from the American sessions. It would have been more appropriate if the selected songs were I'm movin' on, Power of my love, Stranger in my own home town, After loving you, Rubberneckin' - for example. Because those gems are all about moovin' and groovin'! At least that's my opinion.
Anton wrote on March 20, 2007
Great material, really. We have it on bootleg for years now and just love it, all the way. Question now remains if they want to let us hear Elvis' comments and bad language that comes with it? Great stuff unedited and XXXrated. Definitely will become number one of all FTD releases in no time if BMG would buy up this material, and they should!Great musicians and talented folks on that tape trying to come up with great hits. Elvis really knew all along when it sounded right to become a hit. maybe only on 2 or 3 occasions he himself underrated the success that some songs could have (BLove, Ghetto) If you listen also to the fab piano work on (unreleased versions or part) of If I'm a fool, Limo, Movin'on a.o.) Only comment: they should have brought a larger selection of outtakes of more songs. Or are they thinking of releasing next year the 3CD Box of it all? Or do they want to sell it to BMG to be put on FTD...all of it?! Sure hope so.
Lex wrote on March 20, 2007
Anton, you love to hear/ see yourself ramble, don't you? If you read for once what other people write... you'd notice that this is volume 3 of a series... this implies that there are others.
fllaw1 wrote on March 20, 2007
If you can get any of these CD'S vol 1-3 you need to. The quality on these is much better, even better than AMERICAN CROWN JEWELS. JonKanon a rare version of RUBBERNECKIN is on vol 1 and AFTER LOVING YOU takes 1-3 is on vol 2. Pretty much all of the tracks seem to be un-censored as well. For me these are a must have. Also the inserts are very good quality and have a lot of rare photos in them. A collector must have.
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on March 20, 2007
I agree that the sub-title may be a little off when it comes to the contents of the disc,but i like the name,it is more imagintive that some of the names we have seen given to disc's,its too bad ftd will not put out a set on these sessions,those classic albums seem to be the only idea had for these kind of great sessions,thats really too bad,it seems the only complete sessions will come mostly from the 50's and the early 60's!
JonKanon wrote on March 20, 2007
fllaw1, I'm aware that some of the tracks I mentioned are available on the two previous releases. My point was just that to me the tracks on this third volume doesn't move and groove. So it was a question of the title rather than the content! :)
stanton wrote on March 20, 2007
With so many false starts, not very many songs must be running on this CD- but a BEAUTIFUL cover....
Jerome wrote on March 20, 2007
perhaps not a point of discussing in this release but amit folks the well seems to be running dry.. Nice cd but everybody knows this already in this circuit. I recommend: Spend your money wisely
Aron wrote on March 21, 2007
Doubtless and without hesitation: this is my next CD.
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on March 24, 2007
Theres plenty of good mterial from those nashville sessions,i love the Elvis country material,in fact i prefer some of that material over these american sound sessions!