Go to main content

Chaos In College Park

August 16, 2006 | Music
The rumors about the show of 27 September (8.30 pm), 1974 in College Park, Maryland seem to be true. The Straight Arrow label should release this show by the end of the month under the title “Chaos in College Park” (Straight Arrow SA 2006-4-02), according to Elvis’s musicians one of his worst shows ever.

The track listing:

01. Also Sprach Zarathustra (Theme from "2001 A Space Odyssey")
02. Opening Vamp / C. C. Rider
03. I Got A Woman / Amen (medley)
04. Love Me
05. If You Love Me (Let Me Know)
06. It's Midnight
07. Big Boss Man
08. Fever
09. Love Me Tender
10. Hound Dog
11. Bridge Over Troubled Water
12. Polk Salad Annie
13. Band Introductions
14. Lead Guitar Solo (by James Burton)
15. Drums Solo (by Ronnie Tutt)
16. Bass Solo (by Duke Bardwell)
17. Piano Solo (by Glen D. Hardin)
18. Killing Me Softly (by Voice)
19. Why Me Lord
20. All Shook Up
21. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel
22. Hawaiian Wedding Song
23. How Great Thou Art
24. Can't Help Falling In Love
25. Closing Vamp / Announcements.
Ronaldv wrote on August 16, 2006
why releasing such a show like this?? not one of the best tours indeed. if it's a soundboard, maybe I'll think about it.....
You Dont Know Me wrote on August 16, 2006
i think this show will surprise MANY people! It's a 'bad' show but even 'bad' shows have highlights and How Great Thou Art (for instance) is a MUCH better version than performed the next night! sound is also VERY,VERY Good and although controversial i'm sure anyone who knows 'straight Arrows' benchmark know they wouldn't release 2nd rate sound.
Way Up wrote on August 17, 2006
falchro, this is a show day before I guess, thus a new one...
Ronaldv wrote on August 18, 2006
yeah that's right, the "profile" show is september 28
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on August 20, 2006
Soundboard? i have been to the site of this concert,only learning later what the shows were like! too bad
Greg Nolan wrote on August 22, 2006
For such a "bad" show, I've had the previlege to hear two tracks from this release ("How Great Thou Art" and "Bridge Over Troubled Water") and he sounds quite good on these!The others probably won't be up to standard, but even on "bad" shows, he pulled it out somewhere, sometimes...
You Dont Know Me wrote on August 23, 2006
with full booklet notes, rare photos newspaper reviews etc ,this release is certain to continue the HIGH STANDARD we have some to expect from 'straight arrow' and indeed like Greg having also heard Bridge and How Great Thou Art sound is 'fine' and listenable right through.
mature_elvis_fan75 wrote on August 24, 2006
I am not excited about this one,and is it soundboard? i will give credit to the importers they do have more of immagination that someone else,who shall remain nameless, laugh its a joke!!!!!!
Ciscoking wrote on August 26, 2006
Problem with Elvis when he was overdosed...he could sing...but he couldn´t talk..therefore most of the songs may sound pretty o.k...at least an interesting release.
Greg Nolan wrote on February 23, 2007
But have you heard it yet, Cisco? Or Mature, for that matter? (I, too, have driven by the site and thought about the events of '74. As for the sound, don't knock if you haven't heard it. Straight Arrow has an ace remasterer at the controls who knows how to make even audience tapes sound surprisingly good - and revealing in this case. I got it recently and now know why it became one of the most popular "controversial" imports of the last year. YDKM, you're on target. As the track listings note, "another 'Elvis Myth' is now laid to rest," - indeed. It was controversial on certain messageboards precisely because people at first couldn't fathom that (a) an audience recording ("another one!") couldn't be worth it because (b) "it's that much maligned College Park, Maryland show from September 27th, 'the worst ever' "! As Straight Arrow demonstrates with their fine, deluxe booklet and thoughtful notes, don't believe everything you've been told, even from a band member! And certainly the Washington Post, then and now. The other show (the next night, I believe) can be heard on the second PROFILE boxset (hear it for free on Jordan's Elvis site). Now *that's* a melt-down. And even then, there are some decent performances. Both shows, however, show a rambling Elvis who shouldn't have been on stage, particularly the shocking (some might say "tragicomic") outbursts of the 28th. This show definitely has its moments when you think he's about to lose it- one of the worst "Fever" renditions (basically half-assed) and quite a few moments of him rambling on and on. One can hear actually hear fans yelling at him to sing already at one point or another. The band introductions go on and on forever. It's a weird mix of a cringe fest -redeemed by a man singing his ass off all of a sudden, if need be. It's a tightwire act - and the fans and Elvis actually win by the end, as finally finds another gear on some of the songs, particularly "How Great Thou Art." I'll say more another time but this is one of those neat "weird shows," like "Closing Night" that some of us find room for. Hat's off to Straight Arrow for again surprising us all, including a certain "physician" at another site who for the longest time stridently thought that this was mere hype---until he heard it. So all of you: I encourage you to take what we in the USA once called the "Pepsi Challenge" and seek out this quality, yes, quality import disc. Is it "chaos" - or not?