Go to main content

The Million Dollar Quartet - 50th Anniversary Edition

March 01, 2006 | Music
2006 marks the 50th Anniversary of several historic moments in the early career of Elvis Presley. One of them is the informal jam session with Carl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis at Sun Studios on December 4th 1956. Johnny Cash was only featured on the photo of the performers who became known as the "Million Dollar Quartet". To mark the 50th Anniversary, Charley Records will be releasing a special edition 2CD set.

Disc one features 41 tracks from the actual session, while disc two contains 32 classic Sun recordings from Elvis, Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash and Jerry Lee Lewis.

Track listing:

Disc 1
01. You Belong To My Heart
02. When God Dips His Love In My Heart
03. Just A Little Talk With Jesus
04. Walk That Lonesome Valley
05. I Shall Not Be Moved
06. There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
07. Down By The Riverside
08. I'm In The Crowd But Oh So Alone
09. Farther Along
10. Blessed Jesus, Hold My Hand
11. As We Travel Along On The Jericho Road
12. I Just Can't Make It By Myself
13. Little Cabin On The Hill
14. Summertime Has Passed And Gone
15. I Hear A Sweet Voice Calling
16. Sweetheart, You Done Me Wrong
17. Keeper Of The Key
18. Crazy Arms
19. Don't Forbid Me
20. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
21. Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind
22. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
23. Don't Be Cruel
24. Don't Be Cruel
25. Paralysed
26. Don't Be Cruel
27. There's No Place Like Home
28. When The Saints Go Marching In
29. Softly And Tenderly
30. Is It So Strange
31. That's When Your Heartaches Begin
32. Reconsider Baby
33. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
34. Rip It Up
35. I'm Gonna Bid My Blues Goodbye
36. Crazy Arms
37. That's My Desire
38. At The End Of The Road
39. Jerry's Boogie
40. You're The Only Star In My Blue Heaven
41. Elvis Farewell

Disc 2
01. Elvis Presley - That's All Right
02. Carl Perkins - Movie Magg
03. Elvis Presley - You're A Heartbreaker
04. Johnny Cash - My Treasure
05. Elvis Presley - I Don't Care If The Sun Don't Shine
06. Johnny Cash - You're My Baby
07. Elvis Presley - I'm Left, You're Right, She's Gone
08. Johnny Cash - New Mexico
09. Elvis Presley - I Forgot To Remember To Forget
10. Jerry Lee Lewis - That Lucky Old Sun
11. Carl Perkins - Turn Around
12. Jerry Lee Lewis - Dixie
13. Carl Perkins - Honky Tonk Gal
14. Elvis Presley - Milkcow Blues Boogie
15. Johnny Cash - Belshazar
16. Jerry Lee Lewis - Marines' Hymn (Halls Of Montezema)
17. Carl Perkins - Sure To Fall
18. Johnny Cash - Train Of Love
19. Jerry Lee Lewis - Will The Circle Be Unbroken
20. Carl Perkins - Keeper Of The Key
21. Johnny Cash - I Was There When It Happened
22. Jerry Lee Lewis - Old Time Religion
23. Carl Perkins - Be Honest With Me
24. Jerry Lee Lewis - Silver Threads Among The Gold
25. Elvis Presley - Mystery Train
26. Carl Perkins - Lonely Street
27. Johnny Cash - Goodnight Irene
28. Jerry Lee Lewis - Great Speckled Bird
29. Carl Perkins - Forever Yours
30. Johnny Cash - Leave That Junk Alone
31. Jerry Lee Lewis - Hand Me Down My Walking Cane
32. Elvis Presley - Baby, Let's Play House
Source:The Elvis Express

Related links

Buy at Amazon.co.uk
drghanem1 wrote on March 01, 2006
I wonder if Charly Records used the absolute pristine mastertape. Could they match the sound on BMG´s TT&F-set of these great recordings???
Devon wrote on March 01, 2006
I already have this cd so i dont realy know what will be differnt about a new one. If you dont have it i would say yes it is a good cd for your collection.
Santa Claus wrote on March 02, 2006
Charly Rec. issued a MDQ release a few years ago and the quality wasn't any better than the BMG release. So, no surprises to be expected.
JerryNodak wrote on March 02, 2006
I'll wait for the updated/improved Sony/BMG/FTD version. They'll get around to it.
get real wrote on March 03, 2006
"Million Dollar Quartet" is the up there as one of the worst recording i have ever listened to from any artists ever. I get the historical significance of it , but aside from that - it is pure garbage. I find it almost unlistenable. If your going to buy this cd, then buy it for the Sun recordings on disk 2. Use disk 1 as a place mat for your cup of coffee.
Vegas Fan wrote on March 03, 2006
Get Real,"get real"! What type of sound do you expect from one mike, 4 guys and no one worried about how anything is supposed to sound? This recording may be the most pure example of what music is supposed to be about.... Having A Good Time!! The quality of Charlie Records vs. BMG isn't any big deal. It's just the fact of 4 of the "Founding Fathers" being in the same place and enjoying themselves makes this music special.