Go to mainmenu / search box.

Home > Articles > CD review

You Know “It Don’t Have To Be Strictly Country” 2

By ElvisNews.com/ LexApr 27, 2013

Not too long ago Gravel Road Music delivered the second volume in this series.


As usual with GRM the design is fabeltastic. A good balance between liner notes, memorabilia and photos fills the booklet. The liner notes handles the sessions in Nashville and explain what an acetate is exactly.


A handful unreleased versions can be found on this disc. Of course they are – just like the rest of the material – very close to the well-known versions. They are mainly masters, being it undubbed, edited or partly dubbed. It took me about a month to write something about it. Not because I didn’t like it, the fact that the disc has not been out of my player most of that time says enough. Nashville Marathon is still one of my favourite FTDs, That’s The Way It Is and Elvis Country belong to my favourite original albums… so something must tell you I like this material. What can one write for others about material that is so well known overall?

I guess not much more than about the sound quality which is better than previous outings of the same material.


I can only say that this disc will get many more spins in my player. It has no amazing new stuff, but is of such a high level that you can proudly play it for anyone.


01. When I’m Over You (Take 1 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
02. I Really Don’t Want To Know (Take 4 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
03. Faded Love (Take 1 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
04. Tomorrow Never Comes (Take 13 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
05. The Next Step Is Love (Take 11 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
06. Make The World Go Away (Take 3 – Spliced Undubbed Master) Acetate
07. Funny How Times Slips Away (Take 1 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate
(Previously Unreleased)
08. I Washed My Hands in Muddy Water (Take 1 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate
09. Love Letters (Take 5 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate

10. There Goes My Everything (Take 1) Originally released on ‘Great Country Songs’
11. If I Were You (Take 9 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
12. Only Believe (Take 4 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate (Previous Unreleased with Count-In)
13. Sylvia (Take 8 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate (Previous Unreleased with Count-In)
14. Patch It Up (Take 8 – Unedited Undubbed Master) Acetate (Previous Unreleased with Count-In)

15. Snowbird (Take 6 – Undubbed Master) Acetate (Previous Unreleased)
16. Where Did They Go Lord? (Take 6 – Undubbed Master) Acetate
17. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On (Take 2 – Unedited Undubbed Master)
18. Rags to Riches (Take 4 – Unrepaired Undubbed Master) Acetate


19. I’ve Lost You (Take 7 – With June 22 Backup Vocal Overdubs) (Previous Unreleased)
20. Bridge over troubled water (Take 8 – With July 18 Brass & String Overdub) (Previous Unreleased)
21. The Next Step Is Love (Take 11 – With July 18 Brass & String Overdub) (Previously Unreleased)
22. I’ll Never Know (Take 7 – With July 18 Brass & Strings Overdub - no Backing Vocals) (Previously Unreleased)

approval payday loans
Elvis Presley on: eBay, iTunes, Amazon, Sheetmusic

CD review: 10 most recent articles

4 reactions04/11/2014Destination USA
14 reactions03/29/2014Elvis
20 reactions01/26/2014Elvis 1969
49 reactions01/11/2014Moody Blue
16 reactions12/13/2013The On Stage Season
10 reactions10/06/2013Leaner & Meaner Than Ever
20 reactions08/01/2013Hot August Night
25 reactions07/23/2013Sold Out!
19 reactions06/24/2013The CBS Concert Recordings

Recently Added Shop Items